Thursday, September 10, 2009

Travel Industry On Twitter

HotelsCombined.com - Hotel Search Engine



"The travel industry has a very high level of engagement on Twitter and most of the companies that use it fall into three general categories:

- Community engagement and customer service
- Broadcast channels for news, articles, and information
- Dedicated sales channel

The accounts with the highest follower counts, are those that fall into the “community and customer service” category, examples of these would be @jetblue, @southwestair, and @alaskaair.

Traditional publishers such as @LATimestravel, @nytimestravel and @TravelMagazine use Twitter as a broadcast channel for their articles. An interesting variation of this method is used by @EmiratesAir, who tweets links to publications and articles about Emirates Airlines.

Examples of sales channels include @Expedia and @SpiritAirlines.
It’s worth noting that very few people use it purely for community engagement, broadcasting or sales; instead, most use a hybrid strategy, with the majority of tweets falling into one category, but having some tweets of each type. In some cases, it makes sense to create a separate dedicated channel. An example of multiple channels comes from @jetblue who recently introduced @JetBlueCheeps specifically for discounted fares.

Some companies also use Twitter to extend their real world marketing efforts and specialty campaigns such as the Travelocity Traveling Gnome @roaminggnome and Priceline’s William Shatner Price Negotiator @TheNegotiator.

It’s worth noting that participating in social media can amplify the voice and exposure of people or organizations who would normally have a very small reach.

Below you’ll find a list from Michael Gray @ searchengineland.com of over 100 different noteworthy Twitter profiles from the travel industry.

Airlines:

* Alaska Air – @AlaskaAir
* Allegiant Air – @AllegiantAir
* Air Asia – @AirAsiadotcom
* Air France – @AirFranceUS
* Air new Zeland – @flyAirNZ
* Aloha Airlines – @Aloha_Airlines
* America Airlines – @AAirwaves
* British Airways – @BritishAirways
* Cathay Pacific – @Cathay_Pacific
* Continental – @continental
* Delta Airlines – @DeltaAirLines
* Emirates Airline – @EmiratesAir
* Frontier Air – @Frontier_Air
* Iberia Airlines – @IberiaAirlines
* Jetblue – @jetblue

* Kenya Airways – @KenyaAirways
* Lufthansa – @Lufthansa_DE
* SAS Airlines – @FLYSAS_com
* Philippine Air – @philippineair
* Quantas – @QantasUSA
* Singapore Airlines – @SQairlines
* Southwest Airlines – @SouthwestAir
* Shrilanka Airlines – @SrilankanUK
* Spirit Airlines – @SpiritAirlines
* Swiss Airlines – @SwissAirLines
* Virgin America – @virginamerica
* United Airlines – @UnitedAirlines
* US Airways – @USairways
* Westjet – @WestJet

Rental Car Companies

* Hertz – @connectbyhertz
* Dollar Rentals – @DollarCars


Hotels and Hotel Chains

* Diamond Resorts – @diamondresorts
* Doubletree – @doubletreehtls
* Embasy Suites – @Embassy_Suites

* Fairmont Hotels – @fairmonthotels
* Hampton Inn Hotels – @HamptonFYI
* The Queen Mary in Long Beach – @TheQueenMary

Cruise Lines

* Carnival Cruises – @CarnivalCruise
* CLIA (Cruise Lines International Association) – @CruiseFacts
* Crystal Cruises – @crystalcruises
* Cunard lines – @CunardLine
* Disney Cruises – @DCLNews
* Holland America Crusies – @HALcruises
* Norwegian Cruises – @NCLFreestyle
* Princess Cruises – @PrincessCruises
* Virgin Cruises – @VirginCruises

Travel Providers and Aggregators

* Bing Fareologist – @fareologist
* Expedia – @Expedia
* Kayak – @KAYAK
* Priceline – @TheNegotiator
* Orbitz – @Orbitz
* Oyster – @oysterhotels
* Trip Advisor – @TripAdvisor
* Travelocity – @travelocity
* Travelocity Gnome the mascot of travelocity – @roaminggnome
* Uptake – @Uptake

Travel Magazine & Newspapers

* Conde Naste Traveller magazine publication – @CNTraveler (magazine)
* Coastal Living – @coastalliving
* Cruise Log – @CruiseLog
* Christopher Elliot reporter who covers travel industry – @elliottdotorg
* Frugal Traveler NY Times travel columnist – @FrugalTraveler
* Guardian Travel – @GuardianTravel
* LA Times Travel – @LATimestravel
* Lonely Planet – @lonelyplanet
* MSNBC Travel – @msnbc_travel
* National Geographic Traveler – @NatGeoTraveler
* NY Times Travel – @nytimestravel
* Times Travel – @timestravel
* Offbeat Guides – @offbeatguides
* Travel and Leisure magazine – @TravlandLeisure
* Travel Magazine – @TravelMagazine

Travel TV & Radio Shows

* No Reservations Travel Channel TV show staring Tony Bourdain – @NoReservations
* Samantha Brown Great Weekend – @GreatWeekends
* Travel Channel – @travelchannel

Travel News and Information

* AAA American Automobile Association News – @AAAnews
* BrilliantTips Travel Trends and trips- @BrilliantTips
* Disney World Parks – @DisneyParks
* Fodors – @fodorstravel
* Forbes traveler – @Forbes_Traveler
* Forest Service US Forest Service – @forestservice
* Frommers – @FrommersTravel
* Seat Guru airline seating information - @SeatGuru
* US State Dept travel Adviseries – @TravelGov
* PhoCusWright travel industry infomation – @PhoCusWright
* Queensland tourism profile for Queensland Australia – @queensland
* RandMcnally Maps – @randmcnally
* Today in the Sky USA airline news – @TodayInTheSky
* Zagat restaurant info – @zagatbuzz

Travel Bloggers & Social Media

* AOL Travel travel blogger – @aoltravel
* Adventure Girl – @adventuregirl
* Eco Interactive travel blogger – @EcoInteractive
* Gary Arndt travel blogger – @EverywhereTrip
* Heather Poole flight attendant travel blogger – @Heather_Poole
* Gadling – @Gadling
* Gridskipper – @Gridskipper
* Jaunted – @Jaunted
* Jim and Kelly Travel bloggers- @JimandKelly
* Kathika – @Kathika
* Luxury Travel – @Luxury__travel
* Trazzler – @trazzler
* TSA Blog – @TSABlogTeam
* Vagabondish – @vagabondish
* WeBlogTheWorld – @WeBlogtheWorld

Pay less for your hotel room...
Search all travel websites at once!





No comments:

Post a Comment